7 C
New York
Saturday, December 2, 2023

Buy now

GOV Emmanuel Swears-in New Permanent Secretaries, Sets-up Transition Committee

Kufre Francis

Seven new Permanent Secretaries have been appointed to the State Civil Service with a mandate to ensure proper mentoring with a view to ensuring a stronger workforce in the state civil service.

The State Governor, Mr. Udom Emmanuel governor gave the mandate while swearing in the new permanent secretaries as well as Chairmen of Boards and Commissions during a brief ceremony held at the Banquet hall, government house, Uyo, yesterday.

Addressing the new permanent secretaries shortly after the administration of the oaths of office and allegiance, Governor Emmanuel charged them to exhibit leadership prowess and bequeath legacies that will serve as models to their successors and subordinates in the service.

According to the governor, the appointment of the permanent secretaries, which is based on merit, should be seen as a call to serve diligently and also add value to civil service and not mere promotion in service even as he stressed the importance of building an effective and efficient service with integrity as the watchword.

The Chief Executive who thanked the newly appointed permanent secretaries for accepting the onerous task urged them to see themselves as ambassadors and work towards raising the bar of leadership which will encourage productivity and promote a good working relationship between the subordinates in the service.

Governor Emmanuel also reiterated his commitment towards enhancing efficiency in the state’s Civil Service, noting that during his administration civil servants have been promoted on yearly basis, while more Permanent secretaries will be appointed into the service to fill up vacant positions left by the ones who retired.

The newly appointed Permanent are; Mfon Inuaesiet Edemekong Esquire, Dr. Stephen Effiong, Atim Chelly Okoko, Iquo Okon Abia Esquire, Uwem Sunday Andrew-Essien, Isaiah Robson Ntekim while Emaeyak Nyong Akpan was sworn in as Auditor General for Local Government.

Meanwhile, Governor Udom Emmanuel has constituted a transition committee that is to ensure a smooth and seamless transition of government from the present administration to a new one come May 29, 2023.

Also read: Local Content: Nigeria Stands to Benefit More If—Governor Emmanuel

The Transition Committee has Mrs. Ekereobong Umoh as Chairman, with Uko Udom, SAN, Professor Augustine Umoh, Dr. Ini Adiakpan, Mrs. Nsemeke Daniel, Dr. Nathaniel Adiakpan, Elijah Udoiyak, Mrs. Esther Inyang, Pastor Uwem Andrew-Essien, Mr. Isaiah Ntekim, Mr. Effiong Ekpenyong and Mrs. Bella Akpanya as members

Governor Emmanuel while inaugurating the transition committee said the committee became necessary as his administration has barely a few months to the completion of his eight years in office as governor.

He charged the committee to work with every amount of dedication and commitment, liaising with Ministries, Departments, and Agencies for relevant information on its assignment.

As part of its terms of reference, the committee is to verify all projects executed by the present administration since its inception in May 2015 with a view to ensuring clear records.

The Transition Committee is to submit its report on or before April 1, 2023.

Related Articles

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x